top of page

Loving Literature


I'm really lucky that I have a brood of readers. 3 children who happily read in their beds at night before they go to sleep. We have a favourite few authors in our house, Tom Fletcher, Jacqueline Wilson, David Walliams, Cressida Cowell and Jeff Kinney.

At the moment I'm reading FING, by David Walliams, to my son. He still enjoys a bedtime story, we try to read at least 3 times a week together but sometimes he's busy with other things right up till bedtime.

I've read a few David Walliams with him and as much as he and the girls like his books, I do find them a little, erm, samey and rather exhausting to read with all the sound effects and lists that gets thrown into the chapters. It's got to the point where I just leave those parts out and show *O the pages instead. But I do like how the different characters link up in his other books like Raj, who owns the corner shop and pops up in most stories. Even in The Ice Monster which is set in Victorian times, he pops up as a market stallholder. He is my favourite of all characters and always makes the kids laugh.

Diary Of A Wimpy Kid books is my oldest daughters favourite collection, along with Tom Gates following as a close second. Again I'm not a fan but they have huge appeal to teenagers.

Both my girls love the Jaqueline Wilson, my favourite of hers Hetty Feather and Girls In Love, both of which have been made into TV series. Tracey Beaker, however, I could live without.

I've tried to pass on my collection of Night World books by L.J Smith but they don't seem to be interested, I guess you like what you like. I don't mind really, I'm just glad they enjoy reading. It makes my job as a home ed mum a lot easier.

I have to admit I'm not a regular reader, it took me over a year to finish reading Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell.

It was a book I'd been wanting to read for ages and as much of a classic it is, I was disappointed with the ending. I know it's not supposed to have a happy ending but I was expecting a small win for Winston at least.

I read My Family And Other Animals by Gerald Durrell. I was inspired by the TV show, The Durrells and needed to find out how similar the TV show was to the book Unlike Nineteen Eighty-four, it did not disappoint. I do recommend it if you love a true story full of laughter and adventure.

I don't know why but my new thing seems to be scouring charity shops for really old books, the type that is the size of an A5 sheet of paper, and hopefully getting one that has a note written as you open the book.

I have 2 now (it takes a while to find them) one is called From The Earth To The Moon by Jules Verne and is to a child from their headmaster congratulating him/her on their first term and doing so well.

The other is Grimm's Fairy Tales by The Brothers Grimm, sent from a Grandad to his Granddaughter as a Christmas present. It's so quaint and charming, I love it. All I need now is to find a space and a good way to display them.

bottom of page