top of page

Birthday Girl


Yesterday was my eldest daughter's 15th birthday. She was so happy all day long and we had a lovely day. We started as we usually do with the cards and presents on the dining room table surrounded with balloons and a present for the other two kids to unwrap so they don't feel left out. A tradition I passed down from my childhood, and something my Mum still does with our kids, also. Photos were taken and I sat watching, really watching my daughters face, glowing and smiling at her gifts and just being happy. Such a warm and special memory that I hope I'll always remember. Trying to not feel sad that time has flown by so quickly, I squeezed her tight and stroked her hair and kissed her on her cheek. "Happy birthday, darling. I love you"

Later on and once we were all washed and dressed we decided to take advantage of the beautiful weather and take a trip over to Kings Park in Retford. It's a gorgeous park to spend an afternoon in, worth the 30-minute drive. The river that runs through it is shallow enough to play and splash in and so clear that you can see the pebbles at the bottom of its bed. Willow trees stand majestically hanging their branches along the river banks and the long strands of algae swish carelessly in the direction of the water flow. To our surprise, fish were trying to swim upstream, and not one person tried to catch or torment them. It really was a picturesque sight.

We walked over to the play park and sat ourselves on blankets under a large tree. The park has a free splash pool to cool off and play in and a large sandpit with a mini digger and climbing frame in it. The rest of the park equipment is in great condition and there's not one piece of rubbish on the floor or graffiti on the equipment. There're toilets (pretty clean and even sporting soft loo roll) and a cabin where you can get a cuppa and snacks. No parents were screaming at their children, no children fighting or throwing things. It was just so lovely and peaceful. We decimated the picnic I'd made and the kids went off to play. The hubs and I enjoyed the breeze at the top of the hill where we sat.

I love that even though *N is 15 now we can still go to a park and she will join in with her siblings. She has always been such a great big sister, *I and *O are lucky to have her, and so are we.

Later on, after we got home from the park, Nanny Mary and Aunty Cas came round with cards and presents for her. *I had made a birthday cake and we rounded everyone up and sang happy birthday to *N. The cake was awesome, spongy and just the right amount of chocolate frosting with one piece left over for *N to eat the next day.

After a couple of hours passed, Nanny Mary and Aunty Cas left and it was time for a movie and a Dominos pizza delivery. It was a fab end to the day and by the time the movie ended the kids were ready for bed.

I sat thinking again of how quickly time has gone and how precious it is. I literally have one last year before she becomes more independent and experiences the grown-up world. But luckily for me, there're no chances of any school leaver or even second-year college student being able to financially leave home, so I figure I've got her for a few more years yet.

bottom of page