top of page

Magnificent March


I haven't written much lately and although I should, I haven't really had too much to chat about. Home Ed is going at its usual pace, the drumming has dwindled from *O and book club is taking its toll on *N but *I is teaching herself ukelele again, which is nice. The 3 day home ed is working but I seem to have hit a wall on new ideas. So maybe I should stop whittling about it and just allow what's going on to run its course. Less stress is always best! But what I'm really pleased about is that *N really has enjoyed her trial at our local St John's Ambulance unit and will be joining properly. I'm very excited and it may even lead her into a career. Even if it doesn't it gets her out of the house and making new frieinds which is always a good thing. *O doesn't usually like going out, he's a hardcore gamer, but recently we've managed to introduce him to ping pong and this week will be the 4th time he's gone. He hasn't joined a team, it's more a family fun evening but the fact that he'll leave the house is a huge accomplishment, I'm very proud of him. *I has tried ping pong but after a couple of attempts has decided that she much prefers roller skating. So I'm a busy bee mumma during the week now. School stuff, pink pong, roller skating, my course work, writing, stupid job center aspire course (yawn!), and the boring chores and mountains of washing in between.

I had a letter, also, from the local council asking if I want to join their local citizens panel. On one hand it would be good to get inside knowledge of what's going on and interject some ideas for the local area. But on the other hand I'm thinking maybe I'm too anti establishment to get involved. Maybe I would cause myself unneccesary stress. Although, I think you just have to answer questionaires and put your idea down like a suggestion box, so maybe it's not as involved as I'm imagining.

Well, 2 amazing things happened this week. The first amazing thing is that I, after months of battling with British Gas to take out the Smart Meters the finally agreed to do it. If you're wondering why I wanted them out, you can find the information in the link provided. You'll have to copy and paste, I still can't figure out how to hyperlink. https://www.facebook.com/groups/RejectGeoengineering/?fref=nf I urge you all to take a look no matter if you take heed or not. I believe everyone should be entitled to knowledge and information and make their own decision about it. Anyway, give it a go.

But back to the amazing part, I feel so much better already. Not just as far as physical health but mental health. I can finally stop worrying about those blasted meters. I feel like a weight has been lifted. I just need to get all devices hard wired and then I can turn off WiFi for good!

******^^^^^****** ^ Me being super happy ^ ******^^^^^******

The other amazing thing is that my hubz has passed his Level 1 in construction brickwork which is 3 months earlier than expected that now means he has 6 months to learn Level 2 at home before he can sign up for the actual course in September. So going on how he has excelled this year, in theory he'll hopefully be completed by Christmas, at the most the following half term rather than June 2020.

We also found out that even though he has been told he is too old for an apprenticeship (it's supposed to be an open age apprenticeship but that doesn't seem to mean anything to construction companies) once he is on site he can pay for his own NVQ L1 & L2 examinations and be tested on-site by an independent examiner. So what should be taking him 4 years can now be done in 2. I'm so proud of him, it hasn't been easy being in the same class of idiotic school leavers, apparently the worst bunch of kids they have ever had in brickwork, and that was stated by all three tutors!

As you can imagine, I'll be looking forward to 2020 when the hubz will be bringing in a steady wage and I can go freelance with my writing. I'm contemplating writing a book about being on benefits, the snotty job coaches and ridiculous courses they've sent me on, the characters at job club that I've met and the frustration of the digital signature device.

Can anyone else believe that we are almost half way through March already? It's gone incredibly quick this year, normally the stretch between Christmas and Easter takes forever with our crappy British weather making everything grim and everyone depressed.

Sitting here thinking about it there's only about 18 months before *N starts her apprenticeship, 6 months before *I is at high school age and 2 months before *O is in double digits. I don't like them getting older. They're changing and I'm not happy about it. I miss them being small and being able to please them with a DVD, a surprise plate of food and a milkshake.

bottom of page