top of page

Get Writing


As much as I try to encourage my kids they just don't enjoy writing. Proper writing, I mean, not typing. N* and O* hate writing stories, and I* hates writing factual essays. They all prefer to type things out and so to keep up their handwriting skills I've managed to compromise.

I'll allow O* to continue with his touch typing but he has to write in his journal each night about what he's done in the day. Short bursts of not a lot of detail tend to be his prefered style. To be honest, the content isn't too important, I just want him to be competent at writing.

I* likes to chose what she writes about and has said that she would like to write stories but type it up on the computer. I have agreed on the condition that she write down her ideas and draft copies then type it up for the final piece.

N* really hates all kinds of writing, typed or otherwise. She's been going to college since September and has had to do a lot of writing for her course so she's had a lot of writing practice during the last 3 months which is great and so I can rest assured she has practised a more mature handwriting style.

I love writing! As a child I would write stories, as a teen I wrote poems and songs in my diary and as an adult, I've kept journals. Most recently I've started writing articles for magazines and I'm trying to gain some experience in writing online for organisations voluntarily in hopes of one day becoming good enough for freelance.

Just today I have applied for volunteering on a website called We Make Change. It really appealed to me and after I signed up for it I couldn't seem to access the site. I'm really hoping it's not a scam, I'll be so disappointed. I've already been sucked in today with a product testing job advertised on LinkedIn. As they say, "If it seems too good to be true, it probably is". Well, it was. But to be fair, with it being on LinkedIn I thought it would be legit. I'm obviously so gullible. Ughhh.

Just to update from last week, I lost the disability appeal and was really quite depressed about it. It's taken me all weekend to kick myself into touch about it. I don't want to feel any more negativity about the whole thing than I have to. For the past year, I've been filling out forms, going for medical assessments, gathering evidence and then finally going to the appeal itself. It was horrendous, no wonder there are stories of people taking their lives after a rejected P.I.P. appeal. I got the decision letter the very next morning which seems a little suspicious to me but there we are. Nothing more I can do about it. Well, that's not true, actually. I can appeal the appeal and make a complaint if I want to but I really don't think I have the energy for it. So instead I've written a letter. It took me all weekend and I'm still in two minds whether or not to bother, but it really is a fantastic letter, it would almost be a crime to not send it.

Oh, and before I forget, I went to my appointment to sign up for my online course. It turned out it's actually not an online course and I came home with a massive folder of workbooks and assignments. But whilst I was there I had to do 2 exams in English and Maths because I'm unable to provide any proof of academic achievement. Well, I left the building feeling quite smug. Passed both level 2 exams and got right the algebra question that, and I quote from the assessor, "most people get that wrong". Not bad to say it was sprung on me last minute. The hubs wasn't too happy, I was in there for about 2 hours and he was waiting outside in the car! Oops!

So now I have to do about 10 hours per week to get it completed in 3 months. I really don't know what it will do to help me get into the health sector with no real formal qualifications but as long as it keeps the jobcentre sweet, I'll happily comply. Anything for an easy life!

bottom of page