top of page

3D printed body


This has absolutely nothing to do with home education, this is just my rant for today. I have an old lower back injury from when I hurt myself at work when I was 17. It's never gotten any better and gets worse as the years go on. I ache all the time and for the past 21 years I've been going to a chiropractor and osteopath for re-alignment appointments. It helps for a while but eventually slip back out causing all kinds of problems. I can usually take quite a lot of pain but last night it made me cry and when I started I found it hard to stop. I get so frustrated with it and worried about how it will affect me in the future. Tomorrow I'm going back to the osteo guy for another fix up. I only went last week and it's £47 per appointment. I really can't afford it but the pain I was in I can't leave it. During the years of my injury it has caused me to lose an inch in height because of the disc's crumbling. I get shooting pains down my legs from trapped nerves and it also causes my muscles to tighten up. My pelvis slips both forward and backwards and the knock on effect creates pain in my neck, shoulders and between my shoulder blades. It's been a long time since I saw my doctor about it, infact I've only had one initial appointment about it when it first happened. He sent me for an x-ray and the confirmed I had damaged it but could only suggest a chiropractor to help it. But many years have gone by and now I'm needing pain relief...the strong stuff! So I tried to make an appointment to see my GP. As I expected fully booked for September so I have to see a Locum instead but I have to wait until the 17th of September. That's almost a month away!! in the mean time I have to suffer. I was going through scenario's in my mind of what they will find after an x-ray and what could be done. Maybe I will need disc cushions or a pin to hold things together properly. Maybe they can fuse an exoskeleton to my spine like Wolverine? Or maybe they can 3D print me a new lower back and hip joint? But I can be thankful that I had nothing to do today, whereas tomorrow I have *N's dentist appointment, and I have to go down the council in the afternoon. I certainly wouldn't have been able to do that today, I hurt too much. My amazing Mum brought some more pain killers earlier, that was life saving!! I thought I was going to break in half. I know it doesn't make it better but it takes the pain away. Who else out there suffers with a bad back? what do you do to ease pain and have you undergone surgery to fix it? Catch you all next time. x


bottom of page