top of page

Essential Teaching


I guess I've always had a way about me that feels connected to nature, that we all have a responsibility to take care of our planet and our animals that we share Earth with. I've always, from an early age, been upset by animal cruelty, the depleating rain forests, the terrible state of our oceans and the worry of our resources running out. I truely believe they are concerns that we need to teach our children about because they are the future and they are the ones who will have to save our planet that we have and are destroying. When I say we are destroying, really I mean people of power and corporations, not the general public. Yes there are a percentage of people who don't care and don't make an effort to change their bad habbits but essentially it's the big guns who are destroying our beautiful planet, it's people and vital animals and plants. I've previously done a topic with the kids about rain forests and fossil fuels but I think next term I will get a little more hands on and visual. Maybe join in on a beach clean up, pot up more bee happy plants, watch the Blue Planet series, push the importance of cutting down on plastics and of course the 5 R's, Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, Repurpose, and Repair. I'm not making out we're a perfect family, there's alot more we could do but it's affording to implement technologies in our house to help the planet. If companies made solar panels cheaply enough to buy I'm sure ALOT more people would use them. But it comes back to the same old thing of the well off being able to afford those things to cut down their bills and the rest of us have to pay thousands of pounds each year, but I wont go down that rabbit hole any further today, that's a whole other subject. I'm trying my hardest to plant more in the garden. We have a strawberry create and so far it's been the only fruit I've successfully continued to grow. We recyle as much as possible, we have our green bin for cuttings as we dont have a suitable place in our garden for a compost heap. I'm always thinking of ways to repurpose things and be creative and whatever we buy I always prefer to buy second hand (because shops are way over priced) or from a bootsale. Any building materials going free I'm lucky enough to have a hubby (and a trailer) who doesn't mind putting in some heavy slog to collect it. We have an area in the garden that is looking more and more like a merchants yard. But it really doesn't bother me because I know we'll use it for something whether it's for our own use or for trading favours with. We've helped out a friend of ours landscape his garden in exchange for brick laying skills and help moving large sheds. The less money that exchanges hands the better (again, another issue I won't get into just yet). I think mainstream schools really should put more emphisis on issues concerning our planet and encouraging kids to not just read about the problems we have going on in the world but to really get hands on and discuss how science and robotics can potentially save our world. I will mention The Venus Project here as a starting point for anyone who shares my views. Look it up, it's really eye opening and makes you question our entire economy and current systems. We all have a responsibility to teach children to have respect for all living things. To care about and have consideration and compassion for. To be emotionally connected and to make a concious effort to protect our precious planet for our, and all species', survival.


bottom of page