top of page

It's no use!


As hard as I try I just can't get my kids interested in crafting. I have to give it up and let them be. It's only because I love it so much that I want them to be part of it too. I'm pretty shocked to be honest because I've always been doing or making something. Really the only thing they did enjoy was making beaded bracelets and christmas ornaments for the home school xmas tree. But even then they just got bored quite quickly. If I could I'd have a workshop full of every kind of craft tool and materials i could ever wish for and just craft away all day long and if someone wanted to buy anythings I'd just use the profit to buy more materials. I've been super inspired by Justina Bakeney and her style and items at The Jungalow. Her items are beautiful, fresh, stylish and bohemian. So I've been using things I already have, making things, buying second hand and using plants to bring the outside in. My lounge is looking just as I've designed in my head. I've made a macrame plant hanger made from old thick wool tights. They are strong and stretch really well and you wouldn't even know they were tights. I've made a sunburst style mirror by sticking chopsticks, kebab sticks and tiny glass beads to a candle mirror plate. I've used some scarves to lay over furniture tops to pop in some bright colours and hung up a coloured shell mobile that my sister bought for me years ago when she went to spain. We went to a bootsale the other day and I picked up a gorgeous old wicker tubby plant basket for £1, a small bambo cushioned foot stool for £3 and a couple of beaded crochet doilies. I'm also making a latch hook rug and have just finished a piece of woven art which I wasn't to sure about after i finished it, but it's actually quite growing on me now. I also bought from the market place on facebook, a wicker ball light shade. The only new thing I've bought is some plants from Wilko, a couple of rolls of beautiful cacti wallpaper by Holden Decor and a set of curtains from Argos. I wanted not only to have something a little different to the, in my opinion, icky mustard and grey trend at the moment, but I wanted to show my kids how much you can do with old materials and a bit of imagination. But it's fallen on uninterested eyes I'm afraid. But that's ok because I love their passions. I love that *N loves reading and zooms through books quicker than any other teenager I know. I love the bakes and cakes that *I makes, and I love how imaginitive *O is with his minecraft house designs. Maybe it has rubbed off a little after all.

bottom of page