top of page

Taken over the Project


Hi, today I took over a project that I'd set out for the kids, basically because they really wasn't interested in doing it. My succulents are growing out of control and so I thought I'd make some christmassy pots and fill them with baby succulents. Our boy, Ollie hates getting dirty so it's very rare for him to want to plant anything. The girl's just thought it was boring, until I started doing it and then Izzy wanted to tie the bows. After one bow she left to go and wrap up a gift for her friends' birthday. So I was left to it, but I don't mind, it gives me some creative time to myself. I've been collecting fizzy drink bottles and cutting them about 8-10 cm from the bottom. Painted them and coated them with a couple of layers of AB glitter glue. I used polystyrene/styrofoam to use as drainage and filled with soil. Then simply popped in a few babies and tied around some festive red and white gift tag twine. I know i'ts probably not the correct soil and I soil put in a mix of activated charcoal and moss etc etc. But i've never potted them in anything other than soil and they have thrived. They grow so quick that all my family and friends have some kind of succulent gift from me, I'm running out of room and people to give them to. I'm so happy with how they came out. Even my husband was impressed. He'd seen me working on the bottles and did not look convinced about my bottle pots, but now they are filled they look super cute. He even admitted that they looked alot better than he expected. So now I just have to figure out what I'm going to do with them!

bottom of page